hannah // when He speaks

Happy Saturday! Today’s post was written by my dear friend and roommate, Hannah. She has been a blessing to me the last two years while doing life with her, and I know her wisdom will reach places far beyond anywhere she’ll physically go. Let her words encourage you today, friends!

Hannah //

I have found over the years that the Father likes to speak to each of us in different ways. For some the Father speaks through the music that they write, others the art they create, for others still it’s through visions or dreams. As for me, I have started to realize that He likes to speak to me during the times when I journal.

When I was 7, a good friend gave me a journal.  I thought it was one of the coolest things I’d ever been given. I tried to journal every day about something, even if it was simply what I had eaten that day. Now, years later, it’s fun to look back at some of the silly little topics that I thought were of utmost importance. That initial journal that I was given has now turned into a small bookshelf at home where I keep all of my filled journals.

These journals contain everything from embarrassing stories of when I was obsessed with Twilight in middle school to crushes and broken hearts. Looking back, I am able to track my growth in maturity with myself and the Lord. As I got older, my stereotypical entries that started with “Dear Diary,” changed to “Dear Lord.” The silly little remarks and stories became simple prayers and conversations with my Father.

            One night I was journaling about my day and the little things that had happened within it. I wrote about student teaching and the funny stories of the day, as well as some of the struggles that I was going through. As I was writing, I suddenly became very aware of something that the Lord was trying to speak to me. These were the words that He placed upon my heart:

Are you who you want to be? Are you where you want to be? Where are you heading? Don’t lose sight of the direction that I have for you. I have built the dreams of your spirit and I have given you certain giftings that were planned for YOU long ago. Do not give up on the dreams and gifts that I have placed within you. Hannah, you have one life. You are 21 years in already. Fully dive into the water and don’t waste any more of your precious time. Be who I have called you to be.”

            Woah. That was heavy.  I sat back with a glazed look across my face. In an instant I had gone from journaling about the sweaty, smelly middle schoolers I was teaching that day to journaling about this interaction that had just taken place in my heart between my Father and me. My first thought could have been, “Is God scolding me for not doing enough?” but I realized quickly that He was not. He was challenging me to dive even deeper into the plans that He has scheduled for my life! It was a call to make sure I’m not getting too comfortable with the spot in life that I’m at right now. It was His voice saying, “Hunger for Me MORE. Keep seeking me because I have more in store for you.”

            That was the first of many similar encounters. Now, I actively listen for his voice speaking to me in every journal entry. My writing is constantly about what He’s actively doing in my life.

“Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go; he’s the one who will keep you on track.” (Proverbs 3:6 MSG)

Journaling is just another way for me to listen to Jesus’ voice. We all have hobbies, jobs, and talents that God has given us to honor Him through. What’s yours? What way is God trying to speak to you today? Are you listening for His voice in every area of your life and letting Him speak? Let Him in, because when you do He’ll surprise you, bless you, work in you, and flip your day upside down for the better.

Start letting Him in… right now.

Leave a Reply

